Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /membri/massimotessitori/sovietwarplanes/board/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Early Soviet warplanes in Chinese service
Sovietwarplanes
March 19, 2024, 12:37:28 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: This forum replaces the old sovietwarplanes.com whose domain has expired in January 2017. It has been updated with the posts of the year 2016.
The new location of the site 'Sovietwarplanes pages' is at http://massimotessitori.altervista.org/sovietwarplanes/pages/

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Early Soviet warplanes in Chinese service  (Read 7331 times)
Kathemy

« on: September 07, 2016, 04:30:06 PM »

Hello, this is my first "real" post in this forum.

I'm a newbie modeller working together with a veteran builder. I am working on my first kit, an Airfix IL-28 (not a stellar kit,) and after some discussion I floated the idea to base my first warplane collection on something fairly limited, i.e. it would be possible to build a reasonably complete collection over an acceptable timeframe. The problem is finding the right insignia, the right colors and the right models of the machines. Any advice or insight is welcome.

The concept I chose was "Soviet warplanes supplied to the People's Republic of China by Joseph Stalin."

The IL-28 is one of these planes so it fits right in. We're painting it green with blue underbelly as it's normally displayed on wingspalette.

Apart from this plane we've come up with some other models to build.

La-9 and La-11.
Pe-2. I'm unsure which model was given to China, the Pe-2-359? I can't find a specific kit for that.
Yak-9 (Which versions? Yak-9P?)
MiG-9, MiG-15, MiG-17, MiG-19, MiG-21.
IL-10. (VyA+ShKAS or NS-23 cannons in front? Rear UBT machine gun or B-20 cannon?)
Tu-2. (Again, which versions...)